Mapping project: progress

I’m still working on this but I’m about a third of the way done. I took an image from Google Earth of the Bay Area and of the San Fernando Valley where my parents live. I altered the images to be black and white, inverted the colors, tweaked the brightness of the black so that the lines of the streets and highways would stand out more. Then I did the painstaking work of erasing the details, leaving behind only the grid lines of the satellite photos. So far this is what it looks like for the two images:

The Bay Area on the left with the San Fernando Valley on the right

The plan is to take the images to absolute grids and put them on top of each other with some varying colors to differentiate the locations. Hopefully I should have this done this weekend.

 

Leave a Reply

